Friday 17th December 2021 - CHRISTMAS JAZZ @ THE ALEX

The Alan Barnes All Stars Octet presents “Copperfield”

Online tickets £18 (+£1.51 booking fee)
Tickets Direct from The Alex £20

With Alan Barnes on saxophone, clarinet and bass clarinet, Bruce Adams on trumpet, Mark Nightingale on trombone, Robert Fowler on saxophones and clarinet, Karen Sharp on saxophones and clarinet, David Newton on piano, Simon Thorpe on bass, and Clark Tracey on drums

Like the Dickens classic itself, Alan Barnes’s “Copperfield” has something for everyone. A great night out that is also a treat for the jazz connoisseur; it will delight yone who loves music or literature – or just being entertained!

This new suite of pieces, touring for the first time this year, takes the audience through the characters and scenes of ‘David Copperfield”. Readings from the original Dickens tell the story, and after each scene eight virtuoso musicians bring the characters and scenes to life, switching audiences from hilarity to pathos with a skill that would have done credit to Dickens himself!

A cheery clarinet plays Copperfield, the lost orphan Little Em’ly is a lyrical tenor, Mr Dick flies his kite in the personage of a soaring flugelhorn and trombone, Mr Micawber expresses “Something will turn up!” on the piano and Uriah Heep writhes around on the bass clarinet. Just as we see David progress through the trials of his life, so the movements of this suite seem to develop along with him.

The music and readings inspire the full range of Dickens’s imagination and emotion: from loneliness and remorse through to love and then irresistible joy.

“Barnes is a true Dickensian. He is a serious reader of the novels. It is a clear blunder of providence that he was born too late to appear in their pages!” Hot News.

Book tickets online: 

No comments: